Ode to a dead puffer fish

What had the world done to you?

Mangled neck laced in clear flowing skin.

Both eyes still open and wondering. Could it be that you went looking for dreams that never were? And the fault was the treasure of that dust on the floor.

You floated a long way to get here, ashore nearly by-

How many lifetimes ago did we meet in the same watered-down corridor? Alongside the same algae that will eventually cover your eyes.

Opaque visions of the sunset before the whole of darkness is consumed.

Once, the white fins on your back fluttered in the currents’ rush when I smiled down to give you affection. You had come on many occasions just to see me it seemed. My fish with human eyes, how patient was the shadow you caused me. How ample was your aura floating next to mine. A sweet smile from the other side.

How vital were your black spots to my existence, your many thorns to remind me of my own, your murky kingdom hidden below. Your guess at my moods was precise, knowledge finely exuded by intuition.

The subtle way the water moved about your strange body, how you clapped the surface for my face to peer downward. The abyss was around you when I saw. Those we cherish from afar, my diligence in not harming your perfect freedom. Only if you came to me would I know that you are near.

Circling my soul to figure things out.

I had no way of finding you without this feeling we shared. The immensity of the lagoon did its best in hiding you. But lo,

This never stopped us from communing, small Pisces. There you were laying alone in the green sea by the leg of my vessel, alone and more alone in

Death.

I hope to see your reincarnated version soon. My love is a patient kind of flying. It’s been that way as long as I can

Remember.

Your eyes looking into mine like a small fish does. How beautiful were our talks-

Silent now, but listening out.

Leave a comment